foreclosures http://wuwm.com en Aldermen Demand More Attention to Milwaukee's Vacant Lot Problem http://wuwm.com/post/aldermen-demand-more-attention-milwaukees-vacant-lot-problem <p>Some members of the Milwaukee Common Council want the city to take a more aggressive approach to dealing with nearly 2,500 vacant lots.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 21:37:55 +0000 Erin Toner 36102 at http://wuwm.com Aldermen Demand More Attention to Milwaukee's Vacant Lot Problem Photos: Inside Milwaukee's Vacant Homes http://wuwm.com/post/photos-inside-milwaukees-vacant-homes <p>The number of vacant structures in Milwaukee is estimated at around 4,000, with more than 1,000 “distressed” homes on the books as well. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 18:28:35 +0000 Bonnie North 21559 at http://wuwm.com Photos: Inside Milwaukee's Vacant Homes Milwaukee Sells Foreclosed Homes for a Dollar http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-sells-foreclosed-homes-dollar <p>Milwaukee is trying a new tactic to put foreclosed homes back in use.</p><p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 16219 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Sells Foreclosed Homes for a Dollar Housing Market Edges Upward, While Foreclosures Still A Plague http://wuwm.com/post/housing-market-edges-upward-while-foreclosures-still-plague <p></p><p></p><p>There is increased movement in the local housing market. While mortgage rates tick upward, more homes are selling in Wisconsin. Mon, 08 Jul 2013 06:00:00 +0000 LaToya Dennis 6824 at http://wuwm.com Housing Market Edges Upward, While Foreclosures Still A Plague Barrett: Walker’s Budget Unfairly Attacks Milwaukee http://wuwm.com/post/barrett-walker-s-budget-unfairly-attacks-milwaukee <p>Milwaukee’s mayor says it’s almost as if the state budget goes out of its way to harm the city. Mon, 01 Jul 2013 17:21:28 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 7067 at http://wuwm.com Aldermen: Thousands of Additional Dollars Needed to Maintain Foreclosed Properties http://wuwm.com/post/aldermen-thousands-additional-dollars-needed-maintain-foreclosed-properties <p>Milwaukee may use a sizable chunk of money from its contingent fund, to handle city-owned foreclosed properties. Thu, 27 Jun 2013 14:59:51 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 6782 at http://wuwm.com Aldermen: Thousands of Additional Dollars Needed to Maintain Foreclosed Properties City Struggles to Remove Condemned Houses; Asks State for Help http://wuwm.com/post/city-struggles-remove-condemned-houses-asks-state-help <p>The cost of demolishing condemned properties in Milwaukee is squeezing city finances. So this week, leaders will ask the state for more aid to combat the problem. It grows bigger by the day. We took a first hand look.<br><br>Huge metal teeth bite into the second story of a house on North 26th Street. Moments later, support beams crack and the walls fold. Finally, the roof collapses. Perhaps that’s an apt metaphor for the effects of the recent economic downturn. The recession caused the roof to fall in on many homeowners. Hundreds, unable to make monthly payments, abandoned their homes. Fri, 08 Mar 2013 21:23:58 +0000 Bob Bach 2527 at http://wuwm.com City Struggles to Remove Condemned Houses; Asks State for Help Investors Betting on Real Estate http://wuwm.com/post/investors-betting-real-estate <p>The northwest side of Milwaukee has been a hotbed of real estate activity in recent months. Investors have been purchasing foreclosed homes and turning many into rental properties. WUWM’s LaToya Dennis found that some of the entrepreneurs are using their retirement accounts. Mon, 07 May 2012 21:49:01 +0000 LaToya Dennis 2014 at http://wuwm.com Investors Betting on Real Estate Investors Turn to Foreclosures to Make Money http://wuwm.com/post/investors-turn-foreclosures-make-money <p>Milwaukee will host a home ownership fair Saturday. The goal is to unload many of the foreclosed properties both banks and the city own. City Hall estimates there to be 4,000 such houses. WUWM’s LaToya Dennis learned of potential buyers who view foreclosures as a great business opportunity. Fri, 27 Apr 2012 19:36:52 +0000 LaToya Dennis 1990 at http://wuwm.com Investors Turn to Foreclosures to Make Money