Penokee Hills http://wuwm.com en Documentary Explores Volatile Issues Around Proposed Iron Mine in Northern Wisconsin http://wuwm.com/post/documentary-explores-volatile-issues-around-proposed-iron-mine-northern-wisconsin <p></p><p>This Saturday evening, a documentary will air on cable TV about the debate that has consumed Wisconsin for a couple years. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Susan Bence 33657 at http://wuwm.com Documentary Explores Volatile Issues Around Proposed Iron Mine in Northern Wisconsin State Senate to Take Up Access Restrictions Near Mine http://wuwm.com/post/state-senate-take-access-restrictions-near-mine <p></p><p>A Republican state senator is proposing scaling back potential access restrictions to the forest surrounding an iron mine site just south of Lake Superior.</p><p>About 3,500 acres around the site in the Penokee Hills are part of the state's managed forest program, which grants landowners reduced fees in lieu of property taxes if they keep the land open for recreation.</p><p>Sen. Tom Tiffany introduced a bill in August to close all 3,500 acres after protesters emerged from the woods and accosted mine workers.</p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 21:28:39 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 16983 at http://wuwm.com State Senate to Take Up Access Restrictions Near Mine State Senate Will Not Vote Tuesday on Limiting Access to Proposed Mine Site http://wuwm.com/post/state-senate-will-not-vote-tuesday-limiting-access-proposed-mine-site <p>The author of a bill restricting how close people can get to a proposed mine in northern Wisconsin says he does not have enough votes. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 19:59:27 +0000 Marge Pitrof 13288 at http://wuwm.com Can Streams and Iron Mining Coexist? http://wuwm.com/post/can-streams-and-iron-mining-coexist <p>One unanswered question in the proposed iron ore mine in far northern Wisconsin is: what impact would a mine have on the region’s air and water?</p><p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 16:12:10 +0000 Susan Bence 11902 at http://wuwm.com Can Streams and Iron Mining Coexist? Arizona Security Company’s Guards to Return to Mine Site http://wuwm.com/post/arizona-security-company-s-guards-return-mine-site <p>State regulators have granted a license to a firm that started using armed guards, clad in camouflage, at the site of a potential iron mine. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 21:35:44 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 9991 at http://wuwm.com Arizona Security Company’s Guards to Return to Mine Site Men with High-Powered Rifles are Guarding Site of Proposed Iron Mine http://wuwm.com/post/men-high-powered-rifles-are-guarding-site-proposed-iron-mine <p><a href="http://wuwm.com/post/gogebic-pulls-armed-guards" target="_blank">Update: On Wednesday, Gogebic&nbsp;Taconite temporarily pulled its armed guards from the exploratory drilling site in northwestern Wisconsin.</a></p><p>Heavily-armed security guards have been patrolling the site of a potential iron mine in northern Wisconsin. Tue, 09 Jul 2013 22:15:10 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 7733 at http://wuwm.com Men with High-Powered Rifles are Guarding Site of Proposed Iron Mine Counties Try to Put Restrictions on Proposed Iron Mine http://wuwm.com/post/counties-try-put-restrictions-proposed-iron-mine <p>Iron and Ashland counties are attempting to exert some control over the huge mine planned for northern Wisconsin. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 7112 at http://wuwm.com Counties Try to Put Restrictions on Proposed Iron Mine