Mining in Wisconsin http://wuwm.com en Army Corps of Engineers Won't Hasten Mining Review for Wisconsin DNR http://wuwm.com/post/army-corps-engineers-wont-hasten-mining-review-wisconsin-dnr <p>DNR wanted to work jointly with the Corps on an Environmental Impact Statement for a proposed iron mine in northern Wisconsin, but the Corps cannot.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 22:23:05 +0000 Marge Pitrof 21282 at http://wuwm.com Army Corps of Engineers Won't Hasten Mining Review for Wisconsin DNR Local Rules for Mining a Hot Issue http://wuwm.com/post/local-rules-mining-hot-issue <p>There has been no shortage of opinions Thursday, on a bill to limit local regulation of mining. The Senate Committee took in hours of public comment before calling it a day at 7 pm. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 22:06:23 +0000 Marge Pitrof 16358 at http://wuwm.com Assembly Won't Tackle Local Mining Regulations Bill This Fall http://wuwm.com/post/assembly-wont-tackle-local-mining-regulations-bill-fall <p>Assembly Speaker Robin Vos says his chamber is too busy to consider a divisive Senate bill to limit local power over mining operations. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 20:53:19 +0000 Marge Pitrof 16138 at http://wuwm.com Concerns Voiced about Asbestos at Proposed Mine Site http://wuwm.com/post/concerns-voiced-about-asbestos-proposed-mine-site <p>Two scientists claim they have found high levels of asbestos in rock samples, at one of Gogebic Taconite&#39;s testing sites in northern Wisconsin. Tue, 08 Oct 2013 17:02:54 +0000 Marge Pitrof 15008 at http://wuwm.com Concerns Voiced about Asbestos at Proposed Mine Site State Senate Will Not Vote Tuesday on Limiting Access to Proposed Mine Site http://wuwm.com/post/state-senate-will-not-vote-tuesday-limiting-access-proposed-mine-site <p>The author of a bill restricting how close people can get to a proposed mine in northern Wisconsin says he does not have enough votes. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 19:59:27 +0000 Marge Pitrof 13288 at http://wuwm.com Mine Opponents Dominate Public Hearing in Hurley http://wuwm.com/post/mine-opponents-dominate-public-hearing-hurley <p>A steady stream of citizens flowed through the Hurley High School Gym on Thursday, to offer input on early phases of mine testing. Most oppose a company plan to extract iron ore nearby.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 16:47:50 +0000 Susan Bence 10917 at http://wuwm.com Mine Opponents Dominate Public Hearing in Hurley DNR Seeks More Information on Potential Iron Mine http://wuwm.com/post/dnr-seeks-more-information-potential-iron-mine <p>The Wisconsin DNR wants more details from Gogebic Taconite, the company interesting in mining iron ore south of Lake Superior. Wed, 03 Jul 2013 20:44:21 +0000 Marge Pitrof 7273 at http://wuwm.com DNR Seeks More Information on Potential Iron Mine