Mental Health http://wuwm.com en Mental Health Advocate Urges Caution on Changes to County Complex Oversight http://wuwm.com/post/mental-health-advocate-urges-caution-changes-county-complex-oversight <p></p><p>Lawmakers in Madison continue to push for passage of two bills that would make reforms to Milwaukee County’s embattled Mental Health Complex, even while some in the mental health community question the plans. Mon, 17 Feb 2014 22:10:49 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 24951 at http://wuwm.com Mental Health Advocate Urges Caution on Changes to County Complex Oversight County Exec Abele: Change In Mental Health Oversight "A Good Thing" http://wuwm.com/post/county-exec-abele-change-mental-health-oversight-good-thing <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Some state lawmakers are pledging that action will still be taken this session to reform Milwaukee County's embattled mental health system. &nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 17:05:03 +0000 Mitch Teich 24564 at http://wuwm.com After Son's Suicide, Milwaukee Mother Fights Depression's Stigma http://wuwm.com/post/after-sons-suicide-milwaukee-mother-fights-depressions-stigma <p></p><p></p><p>Depression affects nearly one in ten Americans at some point in their lifetimes. Thu, 10 Oct 2013 21:36:30 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 15248 at http://wuwm.com After Son's Suicide, Milwaukee Mother Fights Depression's Stigma Walker Addresses Mass Shootings at Governors Meeting http://wuwm.com/post/walker-addresses-mass-shootings-governors-meeting <p>Gov. Walker says if the U.S. hopes to prevent mass tragedies, it must treat mental health issues.</p><p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 19:24:14 +0000 Erin Toner 9790 at http://wuwm.com Walker Addresses Mass Shootings at Governors Meeting Counting Milwaukee's Homeless Residents http://wuwm.com/post/counting-milwaukees-homeless-residents <p><em>While it’s often an invisible population, homeless advocates believe that on any given day, there are as many as 1,500 men, women and children looking for a place to sleep in Milwaukee. </em> Thu, 01 Aug 2013 13:19:54 +0000 LaToya Dennis 9635 at http://wuwm.com Counting Milwaukee's Homeless Residents Barriers to Mental Health Services Could Remain Despite Budgetary Help http://wuwm.com/post/barriers-mental-health-services-could-remain-despite-budgetary-help <p>Wisconsin soon could see a big increase in funding for mental health services.</p><p> Wed, 05 Jun 2013 16:44:16 +0000 Amy Kiley & Stephanie Lecci 2096 at http://wuwm.com Barriers to Mental Health Services Could Remain Despite Budgetary Help Temple Grandin Gives Readers Look Inside "The Autistic Brain" http://wuwm.com/post/temple-grandin-gives-readers-look-inside-autistic-brain <p><strong>Temple Grandin's new book examines the progress made over decades to address the needs of autistic individuals.</strong> Tue, 21 May 2013 15:00:00 +0000 Mitch Teich & Eleanor Peterson 3501 at http://wuwm.com Temple Grandin Gives Readers Look Inside "The Autistic Brain" Mental Health Clinic Provides Unique Treatment to Veterans' Families http://wuwm.com/post/mental-health-clinic-provides-unique-treatment-veterans-families <p></p><p>Monday, we reported on a one-year-old clinic in West Allis treating a growing number of veterans with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Some say they’re seeking outside therapy because they’re dissatisfied with their VA health care. This morning, WUWM’s Erin Toner revisits the clinic to report on another free service it provides – mental health services for the families of veterans. Family members don’t qualify for care at VA hospitals. Wed, 02 May 2012 20:24:39 +0000 Erin Toner 1679 at http://wuwm.com Mental Health Clinic Provides Unique Treatment to Veterans' Families New Clinic Provides Mental Health Care to Veterans, Family Members http://wuwm.com/post/new-clinic-provides-mental-health-care-veterans-family-members <p></p><p>An alarming number of suicides among American soldiers has/have been pressuring the VA to improve mental health services for veterans of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. As a result, the U.S. Veterans Affairs Department plans to add nearly 2,000 employees to reduce wait times for appointments. In Milwaukee, a growing number of vets dissatisfied with the VA have been supplementing their government care with therapy at an outside clinic. As WUWM’s Erin Toner reports, it offers a less structured approach. Tue, 01 May 2012 20:17:14 +0000 Erin Toner 1678 at http://wuwm.com New Clinic Provides Mental Health Care to Veterans, Family Members Erin Toner on NPR: VA Shortens Residential AODA Treatment http://wuwm.com/post/erin-toner-npr-va-shortens-residential-aoda-treatment <p>The Milwaukee VA is shortening its residential mental health treatment programs. Doctors there say the shortened stay from 90 to 45 days will mean more intense treatment and will make it easier for veterans to transition back into society sooner.</p><p>But as Erin Toner reported for NPR’s Morning Edition, some patients say getting clean and sober is just the first step in their recovery. They worry about being pushed out too soon.</p> Mon, 26 Dec 2011 20:58:06 +0000 Erin Toner 1690 at http://wuwm.com