Government http://wuwm.com en Milwaukee Magazine Feature on "A Different Kind of Democrat" http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-magazine-feature-different-kind-democrat <p></p><p></p><p>The start of July means we are roughly four months away from Election Day, the first Tuesday in November.&nbsp; Wisconsin’s race for Governor will be among the most closely watched in the country, with Scott Walker facing his second challenge since he was elected four years ago.</p><p>Walker, who dispatched a recall challenge in defeating Tom Barrett two years ago, will likely face businesswoman and former state Commerce Secretary <a href="http://burkeforwisconsin.com/" target="_blank">Mary Burke</a>.</p><p></p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:00:07 +0000 Mitch Teich & Audrey Nowakowski 35031 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Magazine Feature on "A Different Kind of Democrat" South African Apartheid Survivor Helps Shapes Her Country's Future http://wuwm.com/post/south-african-apartheid-survivor-helps-shapes-her-countrys-future <p></p><p></p><p>Twenty years ago this weekend, Nelson Mandela was sworn in as president of South Africa. &nbsp;It was pinnacle of a period of remarkable change in that country – that included Mandela’s freedom from prison after 27 years, and the end of the Apartheid era in which blacks and other non-white South Africans were denied the rights and freedoms that whites had.</p> Fri, 09 May 2014 19:51:15 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 31078 at http://wuwm.com South African Apartheid Survivor Helps Shapes Her Country's Future Is Big Brother the Government or Private Companies? Analyst Says Both http://wuwm.com/post/big-brother-government-or-private-companies-analyst-says-both <p></p><p>In a more innocent time, most of us in the United States assumed that unless we were breaking the law, our communications were private. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 23:41:19 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 25719 at http://wuwm.com Is Big Brother the Government or Private Companies? Analyst Says Both Wisconsin Group Advocates for Higher Minimum Wage http://wuwm.com/post/wisconsin-group-advocates-higher-minimum-wage <p></p><p>As was expected, President Obama unveiled his plan to hike the minimum wage for people hired on federal contracts, during the State of the Union address last night.&nbsp; Wed, 29 Jan 2014 23:05:06 +0000 Mitch Teich 23719 at http://wuwm.com Wisconsin Group Advocates for Higher Minimum Wage Local Governments Consider Consolidation Options http://wuwm.com/post/local-governments-consider-consolidation-options <p>Across the country, cities and counties are running out places to turn for cash. Residents complain that taxes are too high but then wince at cuts to services. In southeast Wisconsin and elsewhere, leaders are turning to a third option: consolidation of services or of whole communities. While it can save millions, some critics say autonomy is more important. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 15:15:00 +0000 Amy Kiley 11291 at http://wuwm.com Local Governments Consider Consolidation Options Esparanza Unida to Explore Immigration Reform with Sen. Johnson http://wuwm.com/post/esparanza-unida-explore-immigration-reform-sen-johnson <p>The future of immigration reform efforts in Congress remains in question two days after House Speaker John Boehner held a closed door meeting with leading Republicans. Fri, 12 Jul 2013 18:51:40 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 8016 at http://wuwm.com Esparanza Unida to Explore Immigration Reform with Sen. Johnson