News http://wuwm.com en Milwaukee Common Council Lifts Cap on Taxicab Permits http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-common-council-lifts-cap-taxicab-permits <p></p><p></p><p>Milwaukee residents and visitors may soon have more options to get around town.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:17:50 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36625 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Common Council Lifts Cap on Taxicab Permits Clean Up Continues at Slinger Derailment Site http://wuwm.com/post/clean-continues-slinger-derailment-site <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Crews are siphoning off diesel fuel that pooled near the tracks after Sunday evening's train collision 30 miles northwest of Milwaukee.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:06:57 +0000 Susan Bence 36495 at http://wuwm.com Clean Up Continues at Slinger Derailment Site Common Core Repeal Could Create 'Chaos' in Wisconsin http://wuwm.com/post/common-core-repeal-could-create-chaos-wisconsin <p></p><p>Gov. Walker jolted quite a few Wisconsin school districts last week when he <a href="http://wuwm.com/post/republican-senators-question-walkers-call-replace-common-core-standards" target="_blank">proposed scrapping Common Core standards</a> that have been in the works for years.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 36536 at http://wuwm.com Common Core Repeal Could Create 'Chaos' in Wisconsin Walker and Burke Trade Barbs Over Trek Outsourcing http://wuwm.com/post/walker-and-burke-trade-barbs-over-trek-outsourcing <p></p><p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A campaign ad has stirred the latest dust-up between </span>Gov<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. Scott Walker and his likely Democratic opponent, Mary Burke.</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36541 at http://wuwm.com Walker and Burke Trade Barbs Over Trek Outsourcing GAB: Wisconsin Should Not Allow Poll Watchers to Use Cameras http://wuwm.com/post/gab-wisconsin-should-not-allow-poll-watchers-use-cameras <p>Wisconsin should continue banning election observers from taking photos or videos of people registering to vote or signing the poll book.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 21:21:34 +0000 Marge Pitrof 36530 at http://wuwm.com GAB: Wisconsin Should Not Allow Poll Watchers to Use Cameras Summer Baseball Treat - Lakeshore Chinooks http://wuwm.com/post/summer-baseball-treat-lakeshore-chinooks <p>Baseball fans pack the park at Concordia University to watch the Lakeshore Chinooks. It’s a team of college players, many hoping to make the big leagues.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 06:01:00 +0000 Scott Wise 36348 at http://wuwm.com Summer Baseball Treat - Lakeshore Chinooks Democrats in Attorney General Primary Try to Distinguish Themselves http://wuwm.com/post/democrats-attorney-general-primary-try-distinguish-themselves <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Wisconsin Democrats will decide in a few weeks who they want running for state Attorney General.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36371 at http://wuwm.com Democrats in Attorney General Primary Try to Distinguish Themselves Sample Some of Milwaukee's Characters in Mozina's "Quality Snacks" http://wuwm.com/post/sample-some-milwaukees-characters-mozinas-quality-snacks <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>Brookfield native <a href="http://andymozina.com/" target="_blank">Andy </a><a href="http://andymozina.com/" target="_blank">Mozina</a>'s second collection of short stories has just been published. &nbsp;In <em>Quality Snacks</em>,&nbsp;Mozina, who is a professor of English at Kalamazoo College in Michigan, finds many of his characters inhabiting the Milwaukee area of his own childhood.</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 20:32:26 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 36349 at http://wuwm.com Sample Some of Milwaukee's Characters in Mozina's "Quality Snacks" Italian Chef Looks to Da Vinci for Inspiration http://wuwm.com/post/italian-chef-looks-da-vinci-inspiration <p></p><p></p><p>We are in full festival swing in Milwaukee. This weekend is the annual celebration of all things Italian, also known as Festa Italiana. And in between bocce games, gondola rides, and fast Ferraris, you can also find special guests like internationally renowned chef Maria Liberati. Liberati in an award winning author and blogger of <a href="http://www.marialiberati.com/" target="_blank"><em>The Basic Art of Italian Cooking</em></a> series, and the newest one is called Da Vinci style.</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 20:03:16 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 36347 at http://wuwm.com Italian Chef Looks to Da Vinci for Inspiration Essay: From Greece to A Minnesota Parking Garage, My Great Outdoor Theater Odyssey http://wuwm.com/post/essay-greece-minnesota-parking-garage-my-great-outdoor-theater-odyssey <p></p><p>Lake Effect<em> essayist Liam Callanan essayist goes on a thematic road trip.</em></p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 19:19:31 +0000 Liam Callanan 36345 at http://wuwm.com Essay: From Greece to A Minnesota Parking Garage, My Great Outdoor Theater Odyssey