Milwaukee County Supervisor Stamper to Join Common Council

Apr 30, 2014

Supervisor Russell Stamper II was elected Tuesday to represent Milwaukee’s 15th aldermanic district.

Russell Stamper has served on the Milwaukee County Board since 2012.

A special election was held to fill the seat, which former Common Council president Willie Hines vacated in February, to take a job with the city’s housing authority.

Stamper and former county supervisor Eyon Biddle, Sr. were the two survivors of a five-way primary earlier this month. Biddle ran for alderman previously. He stepped down from his job on the County Board in 2012, in an attempt to oust Hines.

Stamper has been a county supervisor since April 2012, representing the 5th district, which includes the Sherman Park and Martin Drive neighborhoods, in addition to portions of downtown and the Third Ward.

Stamper is a lifelong Sherman Park resident, who previously worked for the Social Development Commission and New Concept Self Development Center.